top of page

In The Spirit Of The Olympics

Considering we are in the final throws of the 2016 Summer Olympics and I feel like I deserve a gold medal for finally getting the new website up I thought it's only appropriate that my first post and image be of an olympic athlete. Behind that awesome mask is 3 time olympian Gerek Meinhardt. I had the pleasure of meeting and working with Gerek while working as support for on video shoot for one of his sponsors.

The Story Behind The Shot

The facility we were shooting in was phenomenal. We were assigned a room that is used for yoga and other exercises. As you can see from the background there were these huge windows looking out over rolling hills of grass and trees. Almost made me want to do some yoga.......... almost. My work was done but as they were setting up to shoot the video Gerek geared up and began to practice next to this huge window supplying an abundance of natural light. Not having my DSLR I whipped out my phone (shot on iPhone 5) and snapped off a few frames. These were my favorites of the batch. Fencing is such a beautiful sport and I felt the color image truly captured the beauty of the stance, action and agility all in one. The reflection really brought out the dynamics of the action. The second one just looks badass.... Gerek went on to win bronze in team foil while in Rio. He was an awesome guy and we have since exchanges a few messages via social media. Swing on over to instagram and congratulate him on his victory at https://www.instagram.com/gerekmeinhardt/. Im sure he would love to hear from you. You can also follow me @ Instagram.com/randymharris or instagram.com/shotzfired.visuals to see some more of my action shots.

Derek Meinhardt Us Olympic Fencer
Derek Meinhardt Us Olympic Fencer

bottom of page